ACC Building picture from outside

CEO Welcome

Claremont University Consortium (CUC) is the central coordinating and support organization for a highly regarded cluster of seven independent colleges known as The Claremont Colleges located in Southern California.

Welcome to the Claremont University Consortium website. CUC is “one-of-a-kind” in American higher education and is a model for the advantages gained through consortial collaboration. I am very proud of this organization and the unique contributions it makes as the central coordinating and support organization for The Claremont Colleges:

  • Pomona College (founded in 1887)
  • Claremont Graduate University (1925)
  • Scripps College (1926)
  • Claremont McKenna College (1946)
  • Harvey Mudd College (1955)
  • Pitzer College (1963)
  • Keck Graduate Institute of Applied Life Sciences (1997)
  • Claremont University Consortium (1925)

The Claremont Colleges, at its founding in 1925, borrowed from the Oxford model, organizing around a library and other common facilities. Today this distinguished cluster of private colleges is one of our nation’s greatest centers of undergraduate liberal arts, science and engineering education and premier graduate education for 6,300 students.

CUC provides 28 vital services and programs for The Claremont Colleges and operates the programs and central facilities on behalf of the member colleges. You will find the services described on our web site.

You may want to attend one of the many cultural and educational programs that are offered at The Claremont Colleges. To view a listing of programs and events, visit The Claremont Colleges Calendar. The Calendar is published during the academic year by CUC. The public is invited to attend this rich array of cultural and educational programs offered during our academic year.

Thank you for your interest in CUC and for visiting our website. If we can be of assistance, please stop by our offices at 101 South Mills Avenue in Claremont in the CUC Administrative Campus Center. We are open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Stig Lanesskog
Chief Executive Officer